Val Rive
Val Rive

Don’t just take our word, here’s what our guests have to say about Val Rive…

 

Ideally located

Very well equipped apartment in a small village full of charm, ideally located. Very good value for money. Ideal for a romantic getaway. Recommended.
Ducastelle family, Brandily apartment, August 2017

Great stay in Léhon

If you want to be in a quiet and beautiful house, it’s the place to be!!
Garin family, Monet apartment, August 2017

We had a lovely stay, thank you

The location of the apartment was perfect, set in the heart of Lehon overlooking a quaint bridge over the canal. A beautiful walk into Dinan along the canal where there are many great places to eat and drink. A special mention of Marmite in Lehon where the food and service were spot on, highly recommended.
Skelton family, Leonardo apartment, August 2017

Lovely apartment in a great location

We would certainly consider returning again.
Lewis family, Leonardo apartment, August 2017

We had a great time

The apartment was in keeping with our expectations: large, nice bathroom with a large Italian shower, very well equipped, no complaints. The location is perfect, quiet in this beautiful village, starting point for various hikes, and 20 minutes walk from the center of Dinan. Dinard (20km), St Malo (25km), Frehel (45km), Mt St Michel (50km), to name but a few, are all in proximity. Gastronomic favorite: The Gourmet Workshop in Dinan port.
Begle family, Monet apartment, August 2017

This flat was a great find

We loved the Abbey and castle, the girls enjoyed the outdoor public pool with views of the area too. We really enjoyed the walk into Dinan to explore the town, which is stunning and has so much to see. The flat was clean, secure and well set up and we loved looking out at the river and bridge from the lovely windows. The Art work in the apartments was great too. We were very pleased with our time at this apartment. Thank you.
Hudson family, Leonardo apartment, August 2017

A great flat in a lovely little town

It was wonderful to walk from Lehon to Dinan along the canal.
Webb family, Sisley apartment, August 2017

Lovely, comfortable place to stay with stunning views of Lehon

Spacious and well equipped with everything you need. We wouldn’t hesitate to return here as the location was excellent, just 5 mins drive into historic Dinan. Lehon itself is such a beautiful quaint little village with lovely walks along the canal to the port. Great communication from the owners. We’ll be back!
Wynne family, Leonardo apartment, July 2017

A very nice place

Do not hesitate, the place is great! It had everything we needed for a good stay.
Kanlanjan family, Monet apartment, July 2017

Its location in Léhon was perfect

The place is very comfortable and clean with a great view of the river. The surroundings are beautiful and picturesque. Its location in Léhon was perfect, and we enjoyed the scenic 20 minute walk into Dinan. If we had stayed right in the centre of Dinan, it probably would have been a little noisy in the evenings. We really enjoyed the grounds and had some nice meals at one of the tables in the garden. We’d love to come back again!
Goold family, Leonardo apartment, July 2017

Highly recommended

We stayed in Dinan for an entire week and we highly recommend this apartment. Perfectly located and very clean.
Vandenbrande family, Degas apartment, July 2017

Beautiful apartment

The building and surroundings are assets for this beautiful apartment. Easy parking and close to all amenities.
Desclaux family, Sisley apartment, July 2017

For a taste of rural Brittany, you couldn’t do better

We really enjoyed our short stay in your lovely Monet apartment. Spacious, beautifully furnished and a delightful location.
Leafe family, Monet apartment, July 2017

A great place to relax and enjoy the scenery

Val Rive is a little gem. It is close to Dinan by car (or walk) and it is much better than staying in Dinan itself. This is a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery. The apartment is exactly as shown in the pictures and it is very quiet at night. The owner has a few other apartments in this building and would really like to try out the cottage in future. There is a nice restaurant (La Marmite) round the corner where we have a lovely meal. There are lots of other restaurants at Port Dinan, which is only 30 minutes stroll from the apartment along the river or one can drive there. We truly enjoyed our time at Val Rive and looking forward to visiting this place again when we are in this area again.
Hoong family, Leonardo apartment, July 2017

A beautiful setting

I loved my stay. The setting was beautiful. Next time I visit I will stay longer.
Wilkinson family, Leonardo apartment, July 2017

The village looks like a fairytale

It was all very clean. The building is beautiful, the surroundings too, and the village looks like a fairytale. Parking in front for free as well.
Diaz family, Leonardo apartment, July 2017

A holiday remembered with delight

A note to say how much my husband and I enjoyed our stay in Brandily apartment, Val Rive. The accommodation was well appointed, in a beautiful setting and with a delightful river walk into Dinan. We enjoyed the local restaurant, delicious food and a charming hostess. All in all a holiday remembered with delight and one we hope to repeat. My only regret is that I forgot to leave a thank you note for your very pleasant housekeeper – perhaps you could thank her on our behalf.
Panting family, Brandily apartment, June 2017

Wonderful holiday in a great location

Very tranquil with a lovely walk to the port. If you want to eat at the local restaurant make sure you book early as it’s very popular.
Houghton family, Monet apartment, May 2017

Perfect!

The apartment is exactly as described, but we never expected the town and river to be so beautiful. Lots of outdoors activities around and just 10 min drive from historic center of Dinan, Our hosts are friendly and helpful. We simply had a great time here and we are already planning when to come back.
Hell family, Sisley apartment, May 2017

It is a great place to stay

Val Rive apartments overlook the old bridge and we stayed a fortnight on the first floor which gave us a great view of the bridge and river. The apartment had everything needed for self-catering though we ate out most evenings mostly down at the port area. The apartment was very well furnished with a good bathroom. It is a great place to stay with plenty of things to do around the area if you have a car.
Griffiths family, Monet apartment, May 2017

A comfy and nicely decorated apartment

It was clean and well equipped. The beds were comfy and the shower was great. The access to Dinan and surrounding area was excellent and the restaurant around the corner was the best meal we had. We have small children and the owner really engaged with them and as a consequence, the kids ate all their healthy meal! The only thing I would highlight to parents of small children is that the iron balcony in front of the main windows have wide gaps in them and we were nervous about our kids going near them unsupervised with the windows open. The owner was great and the guide they provide to the area is extremely helpful.
Wright family, Leonardo apartment, April 2017

A comfortable apartment in a superb location

Apartment well furnished to a high standard, very comfortable. A beautiful location just a short picturesque walk along the river into Dinan centre, which is just stunning. And if you don’t fancy the walk, then the Marmite restaurant just 30 metres away is just fantastic. Already booked to go back next year.
Henson family, Brandily apartment, April 2017

Monet is a beautiful apartment

Very comfortable and quiet, very well equipped. It is located in a beautiful landscape. Geographically well placed for trips to the coast.
Reviewed November 4, 2016

Charming and very comfortable accommodation

The Sisley apartment fully met our expectations. We had a very pleasant stay!
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Lovely apartment

The apartment is lovely, very clean and spacious. The nearby river and bridge add to the medieval town atmosphere. Retrieving the key was very easy and the communication was smooth. The wifi didn’t work so well for us, but I imagine it was a localized issue.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Beautiful apartment

Beautiful apartment to go for a holiday with all the equipment! Hopefully we can come back again.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Lovely apartment in a picturesque town – exactly what we were looking for!

The flat (Leonardo) was very spacious and well equipped. The walk down the river to Dinan was lovely if we wanted to see something new, but the little village of Lehon was perfect for a morning croissant. We loved being next to the Marmite restaurant as well – this was a highlight of the trip.
Reviewed August 17, 2016

Excellent as always

We have been staying at Val Rive on and off since the first apartment was converted in 2000. We were actually the first paying guests and it was our first holiday as a couple all those years ago. Since then we have visited many other countries and destinations. We keep coming back here and have already booked 11 nights next June. The apartments are lovely, set in a beautiful location. Highly recommended.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We loved everything about the apartment and the surroundings

This was a gorgeous apartment in one of the prettiest villages I’ve seen in a long time. We had everything we needed for a relaxing holiday – boulangerie within walking distance, really good restaurant and a delightful café around the corner and an easy walk by the river to Dinan. The facilities were just as described (washing machine available for use was a godsend with two active children) and I have no hesitation in recommending it. We intend to go back!

We loved everything about the apartment and the surroundings, totally delighted with our stay. We tried La Marmite on our last evening and agree totally with your recommendation – food and hostess were wonderful. The boys loved the outdoor pool and being able to walk to Dinan was a real bonus. It was also well placed for visiting other towns and sights. A great holiday, thank you!
Reviewed August 14, 2016

Everything we’d hoped it would be

We had a perfect week in Lehon, the cottage (Le Pintadeau) was everything we’d hoped it would be and set in an amazing area. We’re already looking forward to our next visit so will no doubt be in touch in due course.
Reviewed August 11, 2016

Wow!!! We had a fabulous 4 night stay in Lehon at this apartment

It is even more beautiful than the pictures. Beautifully decorated, extremely clean and perfectly situated for visiting Dinan, St Malo, Mont St Michel and the Cotes d’Emeraude. Elspeth and her family are wonderful hosts who are easily reachable and very welcoming. I cannot wait to return to this charming house and village. Perfect in every way possible!
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Best holiday we’ve had in ages

We rented Leonardo at the end of May this year and had a terrific time, the best holiday we have had in ages. So very uncharacteristically we are planning ahead for 2017.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

Highly recommended

An excellent apartment in a great location. Allowed for a very peaceful few days within a nice riverside stroll of Dinan. Apartment was clean and very comfortable with a really high standard of furniture, equipment and decoration. Excellent little cafe by the Abbey was a real treat for relaxing coffee and cake. A nice extra was a surprising choice of books and DVDs. The garden is beautiful and perfect for catching the sun. Finally, the host was superb, one little issue with the WiFi was sorted instantly with no fuss. Great communication and I couldn’t recommend highly enough.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Comfortable and tastefully renovated

The Leonardo apartment is very comfortable and has been tastefully renovated. The shower room is very spacious and well equipped. The surrounding area is beautiful and is unique. The apartment has lovely views over the little river and bridge and the beautifully tended gardens. The private parking provided is most useful. There is an added bonus of an excellent restaurant just 2 minutes’ walk away.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Our second visit – even better than we remembered

My wife and I previously stayed in Brandily, a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. This year we booked Monet which is more or less identical to Brandily, but on the first floor with lovely views out over the river. As last year, we very much enjoyed our stay. Our high expectations were not disappointed. The apartment is very spacious and well equipped and was spotlessly clean. (A bonus was the dishwasher, not mentioned on the website.) The village of Lehon is picturesque and really nice to wonder around and the patisserie, which was closed last year, is now open and just a short stroll away. (Wonderful bread, croissants and cakes!) We were happy to recommend Val Rive last year and do so again.
Reviewed June 12, 2016

We would definitely come back

To get in contact with Elsbeth was very easy and uncomplicated; the information she sent us was extremely helpful. The description of the apartment was realistic; the cosy flat is tastefully decorated in Bréton style. The apartment is centrally located so great trips are possible. We enjoyed the time very and would definitely come back.
Reviewed April 1, 2016

Really idyllic

This apartment was as nice if not even nicer than the photos – spacious, immaculate and nicely decorated. Great location by the river with great walks either way and the area around the Abbey is enchanting. And the nearby outdoor pool is hot enough to swim in all year round! Elspeth made everything clear and easy so no hassles getting in or out. Really idyllic spot!
Reviewed March 19, 2016

Excellent

The Brandilly apartment was excellent in every respect: size of rooms, general decor, furnishings, & many more. Especially of note were the comfortable bed, the bathroom, the TV/Sky facility amongst other things. As far as my wife was concerned, in the kitchen, whatever she would use at home was more than covered in the apartment.

Please thank Victoria for the £200 cheque/deposit and tell her that we did indeed meet her daughter & that the weather was excellent. The location of Val Rive takes some beating, as indeed does the property itself.
Reviewed September 25, 2015

What a little gem!

This holiday home was fantastic, all we needed for a relaxing week away from it all. It’s situated in Lehon near to the canal, which has an abundance of wildlife (otters and kingfishers to name but a few!) the property is secluded, the garden was well kept and secure for our 6 and 4 year old to have a whale of a time. I would thoroughly recommend this property, the company Val Rive were very helpful, friendly and an email request for information was usually replied to within the hour.
Reviewed August 9, 2015

“Spacious well equipped modern apartment”

My wife and I stayed in Brandily, a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The accommodation is very spacious and well equipped and was spotlessly clean. The village of Lehon is picturesque and really nice to wonder around however, when we were staying, the patisserie was closed so there was nowhere within walking distance to get fresh bread and croissants. (Two well stocked supermarkets were only a short drive away in Lanvallay.)

The location is also great there being a number of ways in which to walk into the delightful Dinan; by either bank of the river which runs outside the property or by a quiet road via the centre of the village. We also enjoyed a walk along the river in the opposite direction one evening.

One practical point: Follow the directions provided rather than your SatNav to save attempting to drive through narrow streets which are now closed to traffic!

Others mentioned La Marmite restaurant which is just a few metres away from the apartment. We had a really nice meal there one evening which was both enjoyable and very good value. We found the owner very welcoming and accommodating. On the night we visited we were the only people in there until two others arrived ‘on spec’. Though probably best to book, as we did, it is possible that a table can be made available for those unable to do so. You really should try it!

We will without hesitation look to stay here again if ever we return to the area.
Reviewed May 31, 2015

“Lovely apartment in a beautiful place”

We stayed in the Monet apartment which was enormous! Modern, well equipped, and spotless. Twenty minute walk into Dinan up the hill or you can do the lovely walk along the river to the port and then up the beautiful street of half timbered houses into town. Beware it can be really muddy along the river!! If you arrive late on a Saturday then there is a supermarket in the main square near the Ibis hotel which is open all day on a Sunday. Really enjoyed our stay at Val Rive.
Reviewed March 16, 2015

“Perfect!”

Wonderfully quaint cottage, spotlessly clean, gorgeous, private garden in a delightful village just a 20 minute walk along the river into Dinan. A perfect spot to use as a base to explore beautiful Brittany. One of the best holiday rentals we have stayed in either in Australia or the UK.
Reviewed October 13, 2014

“Great Location”

We had a really good week at the Brandilly apartment. Everything we needed was supplied. We had our own front door and a small garden area, as well as the shared area. The village is small, there are no shops but a restaurant. The restaurant is a must, food is really good. They are closed Monday and Tuesday. There is a lovely Abbey and an outdoor swimming pool. Dinan is a medieval town and well worth a visit. You can get there by walking along the River Rance and up the hill, which you must do at least once, its near the harbour. The town has lots of eateries. Lovely ice cream parlours and English fish and chips! (Did not try so don’t know what they are like). There are supermarkets just out of Dinan but Monoprix is in the town and has most of what you would need, there is also a market on Thursday. Parking in the town centre or at the back of the castle (free). There is a park in Dinan. We visited a small fishing town Erquy, well worth a trip not too far, less than an hour.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

“Heaven in Lehon”

We stayed in the Brandily apartment, originally booked for 3 nights. The location was perfect with views of the bridge, river and park. The apartment was well decorated and had everything we needed to relax and enjoy our stay. It is well located to enjoy the walks around the village and surrounding areas. We enjoyed it so much we requested an additional night at short notice which was not a problem. We would recommend this apartment and would stay again if we were to go back to that part of France. They were very prompt in refunding our security deposit, all communication was excellent. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

“Parfait”

A perfect place in such a beautiful setting – think of Bourton-on-the-water without the crowds. We stayed in Le Pintadeau but having viewed the apartments we would have had no issues staying in one of these. There are not many places my husband will return to but this one is an exception, we are already making plans for our next visit.

Just a word of advice as we arrived late out of season on a Saturday. There is one restaurant in the village, La Marmite, this was fully booked so we ended up walking into Dinan which normally takes 20mins but being new comers & a couple of diversion signs we were soon lost, it took us nearly an hour. If I were you guys book a table. Food was lovely, reasonably priced, although extra bread was expensive. The owner is quite a character but once you get chatting to her she is lovely, she had us in tears of laughter.

If you do decide to walk into Dinan DO NOT follow the instructions in the Welcome Pack as the pathways are [temporarily] closed along the one side of the river & along the steps that take you up to the town, this is due to subsidence. Instead of crossing the bridge turn left & head towards the outdoor public pool & follow the path along the river, this will take you to Dinan port from there take the steep cobble road into the town, this is a must even if it is just once, just take your time & enjoy. There is always the main road but this isn’t so nice.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

“Lovely property and Location”

We went to Val Rive last summer. The trip was pretty last minute as our son had broken his leg. We had to cancel our hotel in Stresa, Italy as we weren’t sure the cast would be off in time and once it was, we then looked for somewhere a little closer to home. I spend hours researching anything and holidays and places to stay are no exception. Even though we booked the ground floor apartment and the photos and area looked nice I still wasn’t completely sure!

I needn’t have worried. The photos do not begin to do Val Rive, nor Lehon justice. We couldn’t believe the area not apartment on entering both. The apartment is pretty, spacious, decorative, of a high standard and quality with a lovely garden outside the entrance. I didn’t even realise until halfway through the holiday that there was a washing machine, vacuum, utility area and bookcase with books and dvds to borrow, just around the corner in the main hallway.( Important to know when toilet training a 3 year old!) The only thing I missed was having an oven which meant no pizza, but if pizza means that much to you there are plenty of restaurants that sell them in Dinan!

Lehon itself is beautiful. There is a river to walk along, bridge, forest to walk in, church ground to explore, shops, lido, restaurant and so much more. You can also walk or drive into Dinan where we found a fantastic park by the castle wall, which had a crazy golf too. We took a river walk to the port and then walked up into Dinan to an English Tea Room. There are boat trips you can go on and probably my favourite visit was a disused railway we travelled to where you rode bike buggies on the rails. As well as our day at a Brittany Beach of course.

There is a supermarket not far away that had everything you could want, including British items, as well as British TV in the apartment, so I didn’t need to record anything at home! Do remember that being a traditional area, the supermarket is closed on Sunday and you will need to clean the apartment when you leave. I was getting stressed because the two muchkins were making me late in cleaning so we could check out, but the managers were lovely about it and said not to worry as they were getting other apartments ready anyway. We also met the owner out there who was very helpful.

We may well go back another time as the holiday and place were so very relaxing and enjoyable. If you are even considering Val Rive as a place to stay, consider yourself fortune that it is available and book it immediately. You won’t regret it.

A final note is that we travelled to Caen by Brittany Ferries. We booked a room with beds and bathroom which was great as the 5am drive meant I shoved the kids into the car in their pyjamas! We had breakfast on the ferry which was of a really good standard. I would definitely go this way again. It was far more relaxing than the Euroshuttle return crossing that we made.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

“Lovely quaint cottage and village”

We loved our stay in Le Pintadeau with two young children. The garden is very private but with fantastic views over the river rance. I was obsessed with watching the otters from the property, who came out on the river bank first thing in the morning. We played lots of games with the children in the garden including boules on the gravel and badminton on the grass. There’s a fig tree in the garden, which is a novelty for us!

The property is quite small but cosy and perfect for us. The facilities are great and had everything we needed. Le Pintadeau had its own parking space but there was plenty of parking next to the river.

We were a bit worried about there being no shops in the village however just past the castle there is a boulangerie with great bread and pastries. There are two supermarkets close together in Lanvally just 5 mins over the bridge by car. The walk along the river to Dinan is picturesque but very steep climb once there! The road route is slightly easier but not as pretty. Drinking local cider from tea cups isn’t to be missed!

The small restaurant in the village is very friendly and great food with a fixed price menu. Thankfully they let us have a table at short notice on our arrival which was appreciated.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the area is beautiful.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

“Superb location”

The house was fabulous and the communication correspondence excellent. But, this house is not really suitable for elderly people or disabled people. The stairs are a little steep. We had a fabulous time enjoying the surroundings. Everything was perfect. The housekeepers most charming and helpful. Everything to make your stay enjoyable was there.
A car is necessary to get to the place. Directions were good and all that is needed to spend a quiet and relaxing holiday was at hand. You could also walk to Dinan if you were a good tracker and enjoyed promenades. A real home, well kept, tastefully decorated, charming and welcoming.

It was a little hard to get the wifi at your disposal in the place due to the thick walls. But it was there if needed. It was good also to get away from the internet. More walks and picnic by the river Rance under the trees.

Loved the stay, loved the area. Many thanks to the proprietaire for being so diligent in communicating during the whole transaction.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

“Beautiful village of Lehon”

Le Pintadeau is a lovely property ideally situated for your stay in Dinan and for touring the wonderful Breton coastline a short drive away. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped and the garden is very private, getting the sun all day but being blissfully shaded in the evening. This was our second visit to the beautiful village of Lehon and it was even more beautiful than we remembered. Within walking distance of the town of Dinan or a short lovely walk along the river to the old port with its restaurants.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

“The whole family did enjoy the house and the whole area”

Many thanks for the lovely place. The whole family did enjoy the house and the whole area as well as the lovely housekeepers that looks after the domain. Again many thanks for a smooth transaction and prompt communication. We shall certainly add to the great and favourable comments already on Trip advisor.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

“Fell in love with it, we will definetely be returning”

Just to say a massive thank you, for letting us stay in your gorgeous apartment, the standard was very high and the views and location even higher. We know the area well but had never really ventured to the Lehon area much and really fell in love with it, we will definetely be returning.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

“It is in the most beautiful location”

We really enjoyed our stay at Val Rive, it is in the most beautiful location. Best Wishes, Mr White
Reviewed June 30, 2013

“Lovely, quaint cottage by the river just a 15 minute walk to Dinan”

Great location, nice view of the river out of the main bedroom. Lots of lovely routes to walk into Dinan from there.

Good facilities, particularly the bathroom. Stays nice and cool during the hotter months. Decent living space and nice bedrooms.

Next to a quiet road, but you don’t notice it. Also close to a fantastic family restaurant called La Marmite.

The British owners don’t live on site but they often visit. They were great and very accommodating.

Recommended if you like peace and quiet or exploring by bike or on foot.
Reviewed Sept 21, 2012

“Val Rive as possibly the best and certainly one of the best places we have lived in”

We certainly recommend the flat to all and sundry. We have been renting houses and flats in France and elsewhere in Europe for many years and would rate Val Rive as possibly the best and certainly one of the best places we have lived in. It was so clean, the directions were spot on, the keys were where they were supposed to be, the unexpected space and light of a two room flat were remarkable, the bathroom stunning, the bed comfortable, the lighting really good, particularly the bedside reading lights – we could go on forever.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

“A comfortable, charming and picturesque place to stay”

We had a car but found that we walked everywhere and found 4 different ways to walk to Dinan. We ‘lived’ in the village buying bread and croissants locally and ate at the local restaurant which was charming including a candle on my pudding on my birthday! After that we explored the little village of Lehon – the fort the Abbey, the church, the lock up the river.The bathroom and shower in Vale Rive Monet were the best we encountered in our 5 weeks away. The apartment was very comfortable, parking easy, loads of good books to read and we’d recommend it for a peaceful holiday.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

“Beautiful location, excellent accommodation and in walking distance of good restaurants”

The accommodation is excellent, it is a beautiful location, rural but in walking distance of the town and the many restaurants including an excellent one just around the corner from the apartment. The surrounding coastline is a short drive in the car and great for walking.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

“Exquisite location in charming French village”

We stayed in an apartment in Val Rive in June 2010, perfect weather in Brittainy at this time of year. Lehon is a beautiful 3km stroll south of mediavel Dinan along the River Rance which flows out at St Malo. Val Rive is located right on the river bank facing the old stone bridge. Although a picturesque village to explore, facilities are limited. There is a good restaurant nearby and patisserie. Supermarket is located a few kilometres away in Lanvally or in Dinan. A vehicle is necessary to get around. Dinan is a great place to visit and explore.
The apartment itself was large and well equipped although we never got the hang of the washing machine. We loved sitting out in the garden watching people cross the bridge and gasp as they discovered this most beautiful village.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

“Stunning location – superb apartment – we’ll be back!”

It’s very rarely that you arrive at a property and think ‘Wow!’ but that’s exactly what we did when we drove up the picturesque lane alongside the river leading to this impressive house. The location overlooking the river and old stone bridge was an enduring memory for us. With little traffic and only a few tourists (mainly French) this small village has a character of its own. The winding streets were a treasure to explore and the photo opportunities endless. The apartment itself was spacious and extremely well furnished. It more then adequately catered for our needs during out 5 night stay. The pictures in the rooms created a tranquil atmosphere and the bed was as comfortable as home. The bathroom was outstanding and we both thought the shower was the best we had ever encountered. It is very hard to identify any fault during our stay with the exception of a few hours of rain which actually spoilt nothing. Dinan, Rennes , St Malo and Cancale were as impressive as ever and within easy reach. We ate at the Marmite restaurant which was authentic and very handy – the food was excellent as was the hospitality shown by the owner and his wife. English is spoken almost everywhere and they seemed as keen to use English on us as we were keen to try out our French on them! We will certainly be back to savour the charm of this village and this lovely apartment.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

“Perfect location for exploring countryside by bike or canoe”

My husband, teenage son and I had a lovely week’s stay at Val Rive – it was a last minute booking and turned out to be perfect. Peaceful location in a small suburb of Dinan, walking distance to the walled town of Dinan, and a 25 km cycle from Dinard and the ocean. My husband and son rented a canoe one day and canoed on the Rance River, picking blackberries, while I shopped in Dinan. We visited a number of nearby towns. The village of Lehon is lovely, with an historic bridge, community pool, one good restaurant, and an Abbey which had a series of organ concerts the week we were in town. Only disappointment was that the Patisserie closed the day after we arrived for their annual vacation! Oh well, we found great treats further afield. Apartment is very well equipped for cooking, full sized fridge, convection microwave and two large bedrooms. Nigel was super understanding and accommodated an overseas banking transaction that no doubt had him pulling his hair out. I would recommend to anyone looking for a low key break in the French countryside.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

“Lovely cottage in a beautiful, sleepy valley excellent.”

The cottage was very clean on arrival and even though on a road the garden/patio area was private. A really lovely part of France, right on the river. with great walks along the river in both directions. The kitchen was well equipped although we did buy a chefs knife but that was our choice as we love to cook. Le Marmite was a joy we ate there on our first and last night and the friendly service was great.

Couldn’t fault the cottage but you do need a car to see the surrounding area we found a French activity lake which was quiet and lovely for walking around just a few miles from the accommodation. Would highly recommend accommodation and the apartments looked good too.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

“Stunning location, beautiful property and friendly people… what more could you ask for?”

Val Rive is truly one of my favourite places in the world to visit. I have stayed there a few times now and it never grows old. Settled in the quaint little village of Lehon, the house itself is comfortable, homely and well-kitted out. It is just around the corner from the local restaurant the “Marmite” (which serves brilliant food at a good price), the village swimming pool and a magnificent abbey. It is also within walking distance of the medieval town of Dinan which is a pleasure to visit… ramparts, cobbled roads and a bustling and friendly ambiance. The food in the area is great – you particularly get nice seafood from the coast (I for one love the mussels). I could not recommend staying here more and look forward to my next visit.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

“Great accommodation, lovely location”

Very well equipped, easily accessible 2nd floor apartment overlooking the river Rance. Close to Dinan, ideal for walks along the river.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

“Fabulous location, quiet but close to town”

This and other cottages/apartments are in a lovely scenic location, close to Dinan, with nice gardens. Bar and restaurant nearby.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Menu Title